Books & Reviews ๐Ÿ“š

Book Haul part deux

This is a mini haul. My goal this year is to kill my TBR list, but it’s only growing bigger. I’m also working on doing a reading challenge this year, but it looks highly unlikely at the moment. Anyways, the following books are now added to the ever-growing collection.

Love Him to Death by Tanya Newman

This is actually the 8th book in the Poppy Fields Murder Mystery and I bought it for my sister who now wants to own the entire series. I’ll be reading it, though, for she read the book in one day and insist that I read it.ย 

Message in the Flames by Steven Torres

I got this book on sale and Iย just couldn’t pass it up. I read that it was first published asย Burning Precinct Puerto Rico and the book is a reprint in a series of 3, but the publishers changed the numbers and this one is book 2. Whatever the confusion, I’m going to read this as a standalone.

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

I was intrigued by the writer telling this story backward and many readers promised that the ending was one big fat twist. It sounds like a promising read and I hope for the best.

If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio

This is supposed to be a literary thriller and this book is also the author’s debut. I have a confession, though: I only bought the book because I think the title sounded really cool and the edges are black.

The Crime Archives by Damon Wilson

This is a collectible and probably the coolest thing I’ve ever bought! It includes rare facsimiles of documents that led to the capture and conviction of these criminals.

Books & Reviews ๐Ÿ“š, Challenges/Tags/Fun Stuff

Day 23: A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t

Oh, boy! So many books, but there is one that I’ve been meaning to read for a looooonnnnggg time so I can feel like I’ve accomplished something: J. Randy Taraborrelli’s Michael Jackson: The Magic, The Madness, The Whole Story.

Image result for randy taraborrelli michael jackson

I don’t like reading bios, but this book was given to me as a present back in 2010. Look at that timeline! Looks like I’ll have to unDNF it this year.

Books & Reviews ๐Ÿ“š

50 Foods #25: Mayonnaise

Origin:ย France
Date:ย 1589
Type:ย Cold sauce

One of the greatest invention!

I remember reading the story of Charles of Lorraine, the Duke of Mayenne, and how he was attempting to recapture the town of Arques. Before fighting the Battle of Arques, Charles insisted on finishing his meal which consisted of cold chicken with a sauce. The sauce will be named for him later.

Iโ€™ve always thought this was surreal, but wherever food is concerned, myths and legends are never too far away. Nonetheless, the French have blessed food culture with a lot of wonderful and delicious products over the years.

Would I eat it?:ย I love mayonnaise!ย 

Image result for Mayonnaise

via Pinterest