Challenges/Tags/Fun Stuff

Share your world for week of January 15th

 :

Guess what time it is? Cee’s Share Your World Challenge continues now!

Complete this sentence: I’m looking forward to…

…my bestie visiting tomorrow God’s willing. We’re going to have a blast!

Image result for gif tammy

What is your favorite comfort snack food? 

It’ll always be popcorn!

Image result for gif popcorn

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

That’ll be holding down the fort at Vie de France. The establishment is no more here (it’s still going strong wherever branches might be located), but I valued the time waitressing. I also learned to make my first omelet there and I was introduced to Chicken Alfredo.

Image result for vie de france

What inspired you or what did you appreciate this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

Image result for revelation 3 20

***GIFs and pictures via Google Search

041514-sywbanner

Books & Reviews 📚

Day 16: Favorite female character

Okay, I have a confession: I am not a huge fan of female characters. Most of them are either pining for men they’ll never have, trying to be the man, trying to seduce the man, or they’re the damsel in distress. That said, I am certain the lady below can probably fit into one or more of the characteristics I just went on a mini-rant about. I can’t think of any beloved female character at the moment.

Esmeralda – The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo

Image result for Esmeralda

via Zimbio

I loved Esmeralda upon the first read and I thought Victor Hugo did a great job with this French Roma girl until I reread the book in my teens: Esmeralda was 16 and she attracted men with her seductive dances. What I loved about this character the first time I met her was her kind heart and how she showed compassion on Quasimodo (I ❤ Quasimodo!) 

Image result for esmeralda quasimodo gif

What I love about Hugo’s ending is that he was not afraid to kill her. I know it sounds harsh, but a writer gotta do what he gotta do. 

Image result for gif johnny depp the secret window

Books & Reviews 📚

50 Foods #18: Salted Herring

Origin: Baltic Sea, North Sea, North Atlantic
Date: 12th century
Type: Preserved fish

Herring is said to be rich in vitamins A, D, and B12, making it a great source of food. Of late, herring is eaten pickled rather than salted. It is quite the popular delicacy in Europe and it is one of the twelve traditional dishes served on Christmas Eve in the Ukraine, Poland, and Lithuania.

Would I eat it?: Maybe if it’s smoked…

Image result for Salted Herring

Image via Google Search