Book #43: The Outsider

For as long as she can remember, Gabrielle Hope has had the gift of knowing–visions that warn of things to come. When she and her mother joined the Pleasant Hill Shaker community in 1807, the community embraced her gift. But Gabrielle fears this gift, for the visions are often ones of sorrow and tragedy. When one of these visions comes to pass, a local doctor must be brought in to save the life of a young man, setting into motion a chain of events that will challenge Gabrielle’s loyalty to the Shakers. As she falls deeper into a forbidden love for this man of the world, Gabrielle must make a choice. Can she experience true happiness in this simple and chaste community? Or will she abandon her brothers and sisters for a life of the unknown?

Soulful and filled with romance, The Outsider lets readers live within a bygone time among a unique and peculiar people. This tender and thought-provoking story will leave readers wanting more from this writer.

review

…REVIEW!

If I write as fast as I read, then book reviews would be updated almost every day. This one is going to be short, though.

At first glance, I thought this was an Amish book because of the model on the cover but soon realized that it was a ‘Shaker’. Obviously, I was just excited to read base on the summary, but I soon found myself wondering about this ‘Shaker’ religion. I did some research and was amazed at how many things I learned.

If you like history, then you’re in luck because this Christian Fiction is set during the French and Indian war time period. I recommend this book. 

VERDICT:

4

NEXT UP:

Image result for gif michael jackson reading

Prospect Street by Emilie Richards. It already looks like a good book and I hope I’ll be proven right. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book #43: The Outsider

  1. Another great review, and I am happy that this one was a good read, for you. AND it interested you enough to research the Shakers. Books like that, I like. On a side note, I must have been good today because I’ve been running around doing errands, get home, get stuff caught up on my blog. I start to read blogs, and what pops up, 1 new post, and it’s my favourite, Muse’s book reviews :):) God is good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eccentric Muse

      As always, thank you, Margaret. Yes, I enjoyed doing research immensely. I hope to read more books like that. Hope you’ll have a blessed week my friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

