Bible Activity/Discussion

What is the Bible?

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,

so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

2 Timothy 3:16-17

Why is the Bible so complicated to read? Who wrote the Bible? I’ve heard these questions time after time again. Some of us are too lazy to sit down and actually read and study the contents of the Bible, but we rather spend time reading unholy, lustful, over-sexual content that the Word warns about.Β Β 

The word “Bible” comes from the Greek and Latin words meaning “book”.Β 

The Bible is the Word of God, not mythology material. Mythology was inspired by it and not the other way around. It was written by men that were inspired by the Spirit of God and it contains 66 books that were approved by God (2 Peter 1:16). There are books of law, poetry, history, letters, gospel and prophecy. These inspired authors were kings, prophets, priests, farmers, doctors and shepherds. What diversity!Β 

It was written over 1,500 years ago by about 40 different authors. The Bible was the first known book to be translated and distributed in so many languages.

Although the Bible was complied and written so many years ago, it’s not to be treated as a classic for God’s Word will NEVER pass away (Matthew 24:35). The Bible tells of prophecies (all that was and yet to be fulfilled), salvation through Jesus Christ and of the coming eternal kingdom.Β 

Image result for gif bible

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.

Proverbs 9:10

The Bible is divided into two main parts: the Old and New Testament. In the OT, we see the establishment of Israel as a nation, and we’re promised salvation through One Man. It sets the stage for the coming Messiah. In the NT, we see that promise fulfilled in Jesus Christ.Β 

Themes such as hope, redemption and salvation are littered throughout. God created man – and woman – and placed him in Eden, the most perfect environment. He was stress free and worry free, but it didn’t stop him from rebelling against God. Because of this great sin, the Creator had no choice but to place the world under a curse. However, God had planned to restore humanity and creation to its former glory and His beautiful plan set off a chain of events from Genesis to Revelation. Despite what many people may think, the OT was never done away with. Spending time in the Word can help us to become better fruits on branches.

Gif Uva Sticker GIF | Gfycat

The Holy Bible is my guide to living in this cruel and corrupted world. I’ll just leave a few things I’ve learned about the Bible while reading/studying the Word:

^ I can do all things through him who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13).

^ Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest (Matthew 11:28).

^ But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you (Matthew 6:33).

^ Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path (Psalm 119:105).

^ Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding (Proverbs 3:5).

Matthew 3:2) β€œRepent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand ...

In the comment section below, mention which person you identified with the most from the Bible or your favorite book.

Dove gif 12 Β» GIF Images Download

Related

Who is God

Who is Jesus

Who is the Holy Spirit

***GIFs/Images that don’t belong to LPM are via Google Search (Right-click for original source)

Disclaimer

38 thoughts on “What is the Bible?”

  1. I identify most with the Samaritan woman at the well. No, I have not lived with many men or divorced, but I had always felt like there was no place in which I really belonged. Then I met Jesus and He made me feel worthy and accepted.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. What a great question and one to think about. I love all of God’s Word, and once I think this is my favourite book I start another one and it is my favourite πŸ™‚ I know what some of the verses that stick with me the most one is very close to the one you posted Proverbs 9:10 but mine comes from Job. “And unto man He said, Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom; and to depart from evil is understanding.” Job 28:28 And another is Doest thou well to be angry? Jonah 4:4 So many more it would fill up the whole comments section πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I love your explanation of what the Bible is, and yes, it is not a classic but something that is just as relevant today as it was thousands of years ago. It’s difficult for me to say who I identify with – I never really thought about it. However, I admire Naomi in the book of Ruth. I admire how she remained loyal to Ruth who (felt) she had nothing when she could have went her own way and found a supposed better life for herself. I like how God blessed them in the end. To me, it shows how God can turn a hopeless situation into something amazing.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. AMEN! The Word of God the most beautiful treasure I have ever came across in my life! I love all the banners that was made for this post! Very well produced with our Father’s help and inspiration of course. πŸ’› …. “Spending time in the Word can help us to become better fruits on branches.” AMEN! This is so true. πŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ May God continue to bless and use you for His glory in JESUS name. Blessings!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I concur with you on that….the mouth or the tongue is but a little thing but can get us into big trouble…..i’m so glad you spoke about learning to use it for God’s glory which is the best alternative…..be blessed and strengthened.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. What a lovely article this is! I love Ecclesiastes for prioritizing! It talks about the importance of building up SPIRITUAL riches and not riches with the world. There is no point in breaking our backs to make a name for ourselves or a lot of money in this world. Such an important book to me! ❀

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Thank you for sharing!
    It’s beautiful to see a simple and well thought out post on the Bible!

    Sadly, for a majority of the American church we have forgotten the beauty and blessing that comes from being able to even have a bible!

    Like

Let's chat πŸ’™