A to Z

The Anhinga

Yay! I can finally start this new A to Z challenge! I’ve been looking forward to bringing more of God’s beautiful and marvelous creation to this blog. Today, we look at the Anhinga bird. I won’t write too much information, just what I deem interesting. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

An Anhinga dries its wings in the early morning sun at the Venice Rookery, Florida.

๐Ÿฆย The name Anhinga comes from the Tupi Indians in Brazil from a Tupi word which means “snake-bird”,ย “devil bird” or “evil spirit of the woods.”

๐Ÿฆย Because of its distinctive shape, the Anhinga is sometimes called “snake bird” for its long snakelike flexible neck (this was actually the first feature I noticed in this bird) and “water turkey” for its turkeylike tail. It is also sometimes called the American darter. I’ll just call it a “snake turkey” bird.

๐Ÿฆย Anhingas feast primarily on fish, but their diet can also include aquatic crustaceans and insects.ย 

๐Ÿฆย They resemble cormorants, but they’re no match for the cormorants when it comes to swimming and hunting.

Image result for cormorant pinterest

Image: The Cormorant

๐Ÿฆ Species ofย Anhingas can be found all over the world including the United States, Grenada, Cuba, and Trinidad & Tobago. They usually live in sheltered waters.

๐Ÿฆย Additional fun fact: The Anhinga swims lower in the water than many other birds due to its reduced buoyancy-a result of wetted plumage and dense bones. (via allaboutbirds.org)

12 Fascinating Bird Behaviors From the 2018 Audubon Photography Awards | Audubon

Learn more about this fascinating bird here:

Images: Pinterest and Mark Thomas/Audubon Photography Awards

Reference/s: allaboutbirds.org; animaldiversity.org; YouTube

GIF: Google Search

30 thoughts on “The Anhinga”

    1. I am happy that you do, me dearest! Thank you! I, too, love learning new things and God’s playground never ceases to amaze me.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, such a beauty! Thank you, chica! I look forward to compiling the other birds for this series. Denisia really helped me a lot with the pics. I hope we can see some one day! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ Thanks and same to you. ๐Ÿ’™

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! Don’t worry, I got it just fine! I’ll pass on your compliment to her. ๐Ÿ˜ƒThanks again and you’re welcome. ๐Ÿ’™

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’re welcome and guess what? I forgot to tell her; I only remembered today after she left for work!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No, I meant I forgot to pass on your compliment to Denisia and I only remembered to tell her when she left for work!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Haha! It’s ok. Denisia said thanks and she’s happy that you liked the birds thus far. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, cool. It’s wonderful seeing you writing a new A to Z challenge. I find the blue ring around their eyes quite striking. I’ve been enjoying watching the birds that visit our backyard this summer, so this will be a fun series to read. I’m guessing that most of the birds on the list won’t be among the birds that visit our yard. Haha But I bet there will be several that I wish would come and see us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Mandie! Now, I have to keep up with it. Birdwatching is such fun & joy! Haha! True, for I intend to mix it up a little!

      Liked by 1 person

Let's chat ๐Ÿ’™