Devotional Nuggets

Devotional Nugget #14: Omakase

For all this I considered in my heart even to declare all this, that the righteous, and the wise, and their works, are in the hand of God: no man knoweth either love or hatred by all that is before them.

Ecclesiastes 9:1

I love learning new and exotic words so when I came across the Japanese word omakase, I immediately loved the translation of it: β€œI will leave it up to you.” Omasake is the Japanese tradition in letting the chef choose your order.Β 

We can say the same when it comes to going to God with our prayers: β€œI will leave it up to You.” That is why when we pray, we ask for His will to be done (Matthew 6:10).Β 

2 Corinthians 10:5 tells us to take every thought captive. Before we truly begin to talk ourselves into doubt thus allowing us to spiral down a hole of anxiety, we need to take those thoughts captive. Over the years when I handed my worries and burdens off to God, I saw His hand in everything when I did not attempt to take it back. I saw His hand in health challenges, finances, job transitions, and even where my family was concerned. We should never be afraid to approach God in prayer for we’re His servants, and we’re accepted by Him (Isaiah 41:9-10). Faith unfolds when we leave everything in God’s hands and by witnessing His hand in all things (Isaiah 66:2).Β 

Truly learn to trust the Father, so when you put your problems in His hand, you won’t be tempted to steal it back.Β 

Image result for gif bird

Application

Whatever it is that you’re holding tightly onto, put it in God’s hand, leave it up to Him and watch Him work. Share with God what’s on your heart daily for He loves and values hearing from us.

***GIFs/Images that don’t belong to LPM are via Google Search (Right-click for original source)

Disclaimer