Befikre: I dare you… to watch this stupid movie

Image result for befikre poster

I sat down to watch this movie with my sister last evening and I wish I could get my 2 hours plus back. The movie was… well, I took notes. 😦

^ Befikre means ‘carefree.

^ Kissing, kissing, and more couples kissing.

^ Traces of Mission: Impossible 3. That car scene.

^ The jokes about 9/11 and terrorism was distasteful given that Paris is still reeling from the terrorist attacks.

^ More kissing. *rolls eyes* since when Bollywood became Kissywood?

^ Dharam (Ranveer Singh) and Shyra (Vaani Kapoor) were too childish and kept daring each other to do stupid things like slapping a policeman and making out in a car. They defaced property: The Pont des Arts bridge by placing a padlock there when the French had them remove because it was weighing down the bridge. So was taking clothes off and remaining in undergarments in the library for a silly dance number.

Image result for Pont des Arts gif

^ Traces of Chalte Chalte.

^ Is Vaani’s face permanently smiling? for I’m kind of creeped out.

^ Oh, look, traces of Jab Tak Hai Jaan!

^ The best thing about this movie? The beautiful Parisian sights.

Image result for Parisian sights gif

^ More Shah Rukh Khan reference. *sighs*

^ I like this Vaani Kapoor, though. She’s a Kareena Kapoor upgrade and she can act and dance, too.

Image result for befikre gif

^ This movie is Love Aaj Kal 2.0 the sequel… and not in a good way.

French girl: You like French music?

Dahram: I like French girls who likes French music.

Image result for gif eyeroll

^ More kissing. Too much kissing.

^ This movie abused kissing.

^ If this is the future of Yash Raj films, then I won’t be watching another movie from this production house.

^ I think this movie spent too much time touring the pretty sights of Paris, that they lost sight of the plot and weakened the storyline, which they didn’t have in the first place.

Banker: “I’m a banker, so I know a good investment when I see one.”

^ Eiffel Tower proposal. So cliché!

Image result for gif eyeroll

^ I don’t understand women. They get a man (banker in this instance) to treat them right, yet they cling onto the ex who never had future plans of them together because it was all about hooking up and no love.

^ Best song? None. Wait, that… no, none.

^ Too much partying. We get it. Nobody parties like an Indian… at least in the movies.

Image result for befikre gif

^ Too many gay jokes. Stereotypically annoying. I’ve heard and read enough over the years.

^ Anay is so nice. I hate that they used this banker to further stereotype nice people. There are actually nice people out here. Not every nice person is mad or have a hidden agenda.

Image result for gif nice people

^ Dancing with the Stars cannot compete with the competition that is Bollywood… well, Vaani and Ranveer. This brings me to Mr. & Mrs. Smith reference. 

Image result for befikre gif tango

^ I don’t know what’s worse: The French American culture clash bashing or the French Indian culture clash bashing. 

Image result for gif shrugging

^ Anay turned into Salman Khan at the church, but I thought the fights were unnecessary and in poor taste.

^ Great! More French kissing! Just what we asked for!

^ Thank goodness the torture is over! I want my life back.

VERDICT Gavel-clipart-clipart-kid

rating-blog… Bless those beautiful Parisian sights because that is all this movie had going for it.

*** GIFS & photos via Google Search

Book #30: Hush! Don’t Cry

Author: Ariti Jankie
Publisher: Magicwords Publications (2010)
Pages: 183
Chapters: 12 + Epilogue

BLURB:

Hush! Don’t Cry is a story of a young girl who follows her dream of traveling to her ancestral home to find a suitable husband. She falls deeply in love and suffers silently while struggling to make a success of her marriage. Divorce for her is not an option. Kapil had warned her: “The next time I beat you, your mother would not recognize you.”

Could it be any worse, she pondered but did not have long to wait to find out.

Meera’s abuse is buried in a woman’s inability to carve her own destiny in a culture where a husband is considered to be god (pati parmeshwar). Her quiet strength and faith in family inspire her struggles until she is driven to the point of no return. Though a victim, she is a survivor in her own right. HUSH. DON’T CRY captures a panoramic sweep in a down-to-earth literary expression of everyday happenings, and tells the story in an easy-to-read account of a life nurtured for happiness yet spiraling headlong into misery and sorrow.

review

…REVIEW!

This book was recommended to me. I was told that it was an emotional journey, but after reading it, I have conflicting feelings. I am not stoic, I swear! I can’t stand to see people and animals suffer and I tend to be a little sensitive when it comes to sad moments in films and books, but somehow, somehow, this story failed to move me.

For the last time, I am moveable!

Image result for gif sensitive

I am familiar not only with the Indian culture or that of Indo-Trinidad, but also with stories of abused women. In this story, we have Meera who left Trinidad for the Motherland (India) to take a husband and ended up marrying a “suitable boy” Kapil, ten years older than her at 31. Sly, cool and pleasant, he could have fooled anyone at first sight.

The raping of Meera’s virginity on her honeymoon night was somewhat déjà vu. I can’t recall if it was a book or film exactly, but I’ve read/watched something similar and yes, the couple involved was also Indian. The rough demand (“What are you waiting for? Take off your clothes,”), the nasty sarcasm (You must be waiting for me to do your pooja,”), and then the rape.

If only I could recall it!

Not saying the words are the same because that will be plagiarizing, but the setting I’ve seen/read somewhere before.

Anyway, back to the story.

The “suitable boy” turned out to be a monster.

Image result for gif the mummy 2017Dr. Kapil (why do they always have to be doctors! I mean, hey Dr. Cabbie!) came to Trinidad with a motive: he needed to get rich fast. He was also cheating behind his wife’s back. His ‘get rich fast’ scheme fell apart when he killed his mistress during an abortion operation at the clinic. He fled to the USA with his wife and children. He still abused his wife and when their little girl screams, Meera will comfort her by saying, “Don’t cry, baby. Hush.” 

After another commotion, the family was forced to move to India where Meera was hated by her in-laws. The thing is, when you meet them for the first time, you don’t feel the hate and the author simply switched emotions faster than you can say ‘Eiffel!’ More abuse. More infidelity from Kapil.

Although domestic violence is not a laughing matter especially in India, I couldn’t feel anything for Meera especially when she wrote the love letter to herself for her deranged husband to find. She brought that on herself. You don’t do those things knowing the kind of man you have for a husband.

Image result for gif stupid

Meera eventually returns to Trinidad where she throws herself into work, making herself somebody and becoming a wealthy business woman. She was finally able to take control of her life. She was finally free and yet I couldn’t feel it in my heart to cheer for her.

The story was easy to read and follow. Although it was a good story, it was missing THE feels. Like when Meera felt the need to retaliate after having enough, she just retaliated without paving the way to allow the dam to burst. I enjoy reading about India, but the author could have done better. I’ve wept openly over Indian serials more emotional than this offering.

 :

QUOTABLE

“Trinidad is a little India.” (Chapter 2; Page 29)

That it is! 🙂

VERDICT:

2

 

NEXT UP:

Image result for gif michael jackson reading

Missin You by Harlan Coben

July 14th: Opposite day

 :

If you normally write non-fiction, post a photo. If you normally post images, write fiction. If you normally write fiction, write a poem. If you normally write poetry, draw a picture.

Okay, then I guess I’m writing a poem today. Let’s see what I can come up with…

He Is For Us

We’ve…
…sinned
fell short
rebelled
lied and
cursed…
Yet, He is for us
He was for us before the world was made
And He is still for us as this world sets to end.