Book #27: Macaron Murder

Image result for Macaron Murder

Author: Harper Lin
Publisher: Harper Lin Books (2014)
Pages: 145
Chapters: 18
Series: A Patisserie Mystery #1

BLURB:

French native Clémence Damour returns to Paris after traveling around the world for two years. She’s dog-sitting for her parents in the posh 16th arrondissement and overseeing the family patisserie, a famous franchise known for their delectable gourmet pastries and sweets in Paris and around the world.

To get off on the right foot with la gardienne, the caretaker of the apartment building, Clémence gives her a box of their luxury macarons. The next morning  however, the half-eaten box of macarons is found near la gardienne’s dead body. An incompetent inspector accuses Clémence of being the killer, which prompts her to clear her name and solve the case herself.

Join Clémence and her friends as they solve murder cases, bake macarons and other treats, and fall in love in The City of Lights.

review

…REVIEW!

I actually don’t know what to make of this book. It was quite easy to read – too easy! I wouldn’t even call it a book for young adults. Children 7-12 can read this book, but I won’t recommend it.

This book took me nowhere. I tried to get into it hoping that the author would introduce a brilliant plot twist, but I was left hanging.

Image result for gif walk with God

I like reading novels about France and the French, but some are just downright stereotypical and this book was one of them. “You know how Frenchmen are. They’re like insecure little boys who need to act arrogant to mask their insecurities.” Take that back! Not ALL Frenchmen are arrogant and insecure. How rude, offensive and downright stereotypical. I know some Frenchmen who are quite the opposite and I’m not talking about my favorite French personalities.

The ONLY person I liked in this story was Sebastien.

Saying the French president (now former) is not attractive and making fun of the women who are attracted to him is downright rude. It doesn’t matter if someone is not super attractive with a megawatt smile, some women are attracted to that kind of man status or not. Some of the least attractive world leaders had their fair share of affairs with upstanding ladies. I happen to think that Mr. Hollande was nice. Have you seen him back in his heydays?

LoL! Ah, moving on.

Clémence and Cyril deserve each other although I know she’s probably going to end up with the lovely and mysterious Sebastien. I won’t know, though, because my journey of this series stops right here.

I knew the dentist was the killer when I first met him but calling him a psychopathic murderer was a little too much. He only killed one woman by hitting her… by accident. In reality, a psychopathic murderer is a serial killer. A serial killer would have several killings under his belt. The dentist only had one and he didn’t kill in a psychopathic way.

I felt as if Clémence didn’t tell me about herself. I got that she traveled recently, loves to bake but isn’t sure of making it her career. I am sorry, but although I haven’t been to Paris, this setting did not feel like Paris at all. Nothing about the sights (except the Eiffel Tower) and the smells (except the macarons) transported me to the beautiful City of Love. The characters weren’t well developed and the murder didn’t have anything to do with macarons at all. The story ended too abruptly for me.

I passed on the macaron recipes. They were bland.

TYPO:

Lara noticed Arthur glaring at Lara, who sat down and seemed to deflate in a chair. (page 112)

 :

VERDICT:

canstock18820718

NEXT UP:

Image result for gif michael jackson reading

Tough Girls Don’t Dance by Osmund James. I know for certain that I am going to find fault with this book, but I was told that I don’t read too many Caribbean books and that I should read this one. We’ll see.

Share Your World for the week of July 03rd

 :

Cee’s Share Your World Challenge is back this week and I love participating in the fun questions. Cee, thank you for this weekly mini challenge. ❤

For your main meal do you prefer sweet and sour, hot and spicy, spicy and sweet, bitter, salty, bland or other?

I love spicy food! Give it to me hot and spicy! Yes, Ma’am!

Image result for you don t have enough badges to train me

Where do you hide junk when people come over?

Well, my room is always cluttered with books and research papers here and there because I think better that way while writing. I don’t have any junk to hide because there are no visitors to receive into my room. 

Image result for gif dave gahan

What daily habit would you like to introduce to your life?

I pray daily, read/study my Bible, walk with God… nothing, I guess. I just want to continue doing these things. 

If you were to perform in the circus, what would you do?  

A trapeze showgirl! 

Image result for gif zendaya the greatest showman

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful for making it through the week although the exhaustion slowed me down. And as for next week, well, you know what I always say here: Surprise me, God.

***GIFs via Google Search