Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

I’ve come to read and appreciate many poems over the years, but if you were to ask what is my all time favorite poem, I’ll tell you it’s Robert Frost’s ‘Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening’. 

Image result for Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

via Inspire Leads

Now, a poem is like a piece of music and it speaks differently to each individual. I would not attempt to over analyze this beauty.

Frost had the uncanny ability to depict a scene with many details, that whenever I read this poem, I am transformed to the woods on the darkest evening of the year. Over the years, I’ve read that this poem is about the writer stopping to appreciate nature given that Frost was known for his odes to nature. However, I never got that vibe because this is the darkest evening of the year and why would he stop with not a house in sight to appreciate nature? I’ll love to talk about this poem at length at some other time, but today, I just want to appreciate it and thank Frost for this beauty.

Related image

Image via josbd.com

2 thoughts on “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

