Random musing: My love for movies is diminishing.

Image result for michael jackson liberian girl gif

It’s been a long time coming too.

Just as music is not an important part of my life anymore, the movies are following in this footstep. I grew up listening to Michael Jackson (thanks to my father) and I eventually branched off to the Backstreet Boys, Sade, Depeche Mode, Aerosmith etc. Now, I listen to Michael W. Smith and a little bit of MJ, Sade or Depeche Mode. Whenever I listen to a song, I pay attention to the lyrics and if it’s not meaningful, then I’ll tune that song out.

And now, I’m beginning to feel the same way about movies. I don’t feel passionate about films as before. I’ve only been to the cinema twice for the year and those movies did not live up to their standards. Just last year, I was super excited for ‘Wonder Woman’ but decided to skip it when it finally opened here. My excitement for seeing the film had entirely vanished. I watch movies to be entertained, but lately, the entertainment does not live up to its standards.

You may ask what about Tom Cruise?

Image result for tom cruise movie gif

Let’s put it this way: one day, I might be over his acting, but not today. He is the only actor that keeps me coming back for more film after film. Even if the film underwhelms (Rock of Ages), Mr. Cruise gives 110% percent and it is quite impossible to hate that dedication. And he is starring in the movie that I’ve been anticipating since 2015, ‘American Made’. I hope he does Barry Seal justice.

I’ll still watch a movie here or there, but the days for engrossing in them are over. 

 

4 thoughts on “Random musing: My love for movies is diminishing.

  1. I agree. The movies all seem to be remakes of the same old things. No, imagination for new ideas. Which isn’t bad, there are great stories that never get old. But it does seem that actors don’t have the zeal for their craft as they use to. Maybe it’s because once they started getting paid tens of millions of dollars for a movie, whether they applied themselves of not, the incentive went out the window.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Eccentric Muse

      If they hire me, I can give them TONS of new ideas! But I want to choose the actors too because some of these actors cannot act right. I agree. It’s all about the money.

      Liked by 1 person

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

