Hahaha! Tom Cruise must be laughing at the critics all the way to the bank.

TC and Boutella. The Mummy. New York premiere:

In America, it’s cool to hate Tom Cruise. It’s even cool to admit that you’ve hated Tom Cruise before he was getting all the current hate. I kid you not. I have no idea why people think its cool to just hate on someone. There are many actors that I don’t like because they don’t do anything for me, but I don’t hate them.

But there is no one like Tom Cruise and they know it.

Cruise is a bankable star and his ability to carry and sell a movie remains to be seen. Sure, he might have had some lows on the way. Name one actor who doesn’t? Let’s take his latest film in point, The Mummy.

TC. The Mummy still:

Now, I am yet to see this film, but I’ve read some early reviews and most of them were bad. There were a few who tweeted and said that they hated TC, but after seeing him in this film, it made them appreciate him. I guess they like the fact that Nick Morton is a slimeball. *shrugging* Just saying. Some diehard TC fans said that the film was ‘meh’ because they’re not accustomed to seeing him in these roles. *Eye roll* Then they might need to see The Color of Money and Interview with the Vampire.

As I said in an earlier post, I don’t see this movie being the talk of the summer, but I did say that it was going to be huge overseas. The movie might have tanked in the US Box Office (this was expected) with $32 million, but it gave Tom Cruise his largest opening ever globally at $174 million. And with the film opening in places like Trinidad, France and French-Switzerland this week, it stands to take in a total of $435 million worldwide, making this TC’s 3rd biggest non-Mission: Impossible hit.

Image result for gif tom cruise whistle

The man can’t be worried about this figure because the critics must be weeping at the global figure sales. They thought that they did just about enough knocking to keep everyone from seeing the movie this weekend. They forgot that Cruise is still a mega movie star aboard.

With all the negative reviews, I just had to wonder what were they expecting? A masterpiece? Haha! With Alex Kurtzman as the director? Yeah, right! From the beginning, I thought it looked like it was going to be a great sense of adventure and that is what I’ll be paying for. 

It is the critics’ job to review movies and give honest feedback, but I can’t trust them especially Rotten Tomatoes. I don’t know why people take them so seriously. Movie scores are flawed and we should run, run, run away from them! 

Image result for gif tom cruise whistle

I’ve maintained that TC is the only actor yet to let me down where it concerns his acting chops, but don’t worry, I am not biased and if I don’t like The Mummy when I finally get to see it this week, I’ll say so. Also, please note that a big opening does not mean that the movie isn’t bad, but I tend not to believe critics until I’ve seen the movie myself. I mean, it was America v The Rest Of The World and America lost.

Bet the flogging critics didn’t see that coming!

Image result for gif tom cruise laugh interview with the vampire

Carry on. As you were.

 

6 thoughts on “Hahaha! Tom Cruise must be laughing at the critics all the way to the bank.

  1. I agree, I’ve read horrible reviews about movies, then I see them and think why did this get such bad reviews? It later goes on to be what do they call it a “pop culture” hit. That might not be the correct term. I’m sure you, or someone knows the term I am searching for. What that term really means, I’ve found since getting older, is that the critics didn’t like the director, actor, something, that really had no merit, just biased opinion. I can’t wait to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eccentric Muse

      Exactly! I want to be the judge of the film when I see it. I’ve never trusted the critics and their hidden agenda. The term that you’re looking for doesn’t come to mind at the moment. Hmmm… cult classic?

      Liked by 1 person

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

