‘Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul’: Charlie Wright, I give this one to you, but…

Image result for 'Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul' movie

STORYLINE: Greg Heffley is looking forward to a long summer of just hanging out, but his mother forces the entire family to take a road trip for a relative’s birthday celebration.

The Long Haul is the fourth film of the DOAWK franchise and it features an all-new cast: Jason Drucker as Greg Heffley, Alicia Silverstone as Susan Heffley, Tom Everett Scott as Frank Heffley, Dylan Walters as Manny Heffley and Charlie Wright as Rodrick Heffley. Before I go on, this is Charlie Wright:

Image result for Charlie Wright

This story is the unfortunate road trip genre. You know, a family takes a trip and everything that couldn’t and shouldn’t go wrong, goes wrong? It’s like I’ve seen this movie a thousand times over just with a different cast. They even paid homage to the shower scene in Psycho.

A few horrendous moments in the film:

^ That Spice Girls’ song! I have no idea why ‘Wannabe’ was chosen as the car song. The lyrics are horrible and children are singing along to this garbage without knowing the actual meaning behind this song. It’s basically about having sex while high on ecstasy, so good job on selecting this song and tricking the children into singing and dancing along to it mindlessly.

^ Rodrick confusing a safe for the microwave and locking their only food in the safe was probably the stupidest thing I’ve seen in a movie. It was in no way funny. As dimwitted as Rodrick is, I know he can tell the difference between a microwave and a safe.

^ A bag of Cheetos accidentally falls into a hot tub with Greg, resulting in him being orange from the neck down. I mean…

Image result for gif tom cruise what

^ Throughout the film, Greg is being chased by the father of a redneck family and he fails to inform his parents about his potential killer. At one point, the family lost their luggage and guess who just happens to come along and steal it? Yep. Murderous Redneck and his family. The Heffleys find the redneck’s truck at a hotel and decide to break into the hotel to steal it back. At this point, I was shouting (inside of course) that the luggage is in the truck, you fools! Right in the middle of searching for their luggage in the room, the family decides that they’re dirty and needs to ‘wash up’. >.<

Image result for gif really michael jackson

I am tired of all the poop, fart and vomit jokes in movies. That is lazy humor and this movie fell into that category.

Although everyone did a great job and I laughed the most at/with Roderick, the movie was seriously underwhelming. Roderick reminds me of Tom Welling in Cheaper by the Dozen, but funnier. My movie-going colleague watched this film and she too, liked Roderick a lot. I think the lazy writers could’ve done a lot more with this character. I give this movie to Charlie Wright, but this movie should’ve never seen the light of day.

VERDICT Gavel-clipart-clipart-kid

rating-blograting-blog

I know movie experiences are different for everyone, so if you’ve seen this film, I invite you to leave your thoughts below whether you like it, love it or hate it. And if you haven’t seen it, do you plan to?

6 thoughts on “‘Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul’: Charlie Wright, I give this one to you, but…

  1. Ughhh, I was sick of those books the moment they hit the shelves. 🙈 I’m not surprised that the movie was any better, although that’s sad. I must say, though, Charlie Wright is quite attractive hahaha, although not a good enough reason to see the film.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eccentric Muse

      Surprisingly, I haven’t read any of the books. I’ve seen the first two on TV and they were passable. As for this one, I singled out Charlie Wright because Rodrick fans were giving him a hard time and he turned out to be the best thing about this film. People grow up. I understand that they needed to look for new cast members, but this movie shouldn’t have seen the light of day.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Eccentric Muse

      Yes, just a waste of time and your money. I’ve decided to skip Baywatch and Wonder Woman. I’m not in a movie going mood lately. My next movie is going to be The Mummy and I’m not going in expecting to be all wowed out, but I know it’s going to be better than this one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Eccentric Muse

        I hope it’ll be crowded when I go to take in The Mummy! I like hearing what others think during and after the movie. But I agree with you on watching the film from the comfort of your home. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

