Trailer: Murder on the Orient Express

Image result for Murder on the Orient Express

Image via Google Search

Okay, so I am down for a good old whodunit mystery. Growing up, I used to love these stories. Today, I took a look at the first trailer for Murder on the Orient Express. This movie is based on the bestselling novel by Agatha Christie. The first person I thought of while watching this trailer was my girl Maggie of Dreaming of Guatemala. I read an awesome book review of hers earlier today of another Christie’s novel and she adores Johnny Depp. So, Mags, if you read this, let us know what you make of the trailer. 🙂

Right. So the trailer is well done and it gives no real hint of what has happened and is Johnny Depp always on a train? The trailer is narrated by Hercule Poirot (I’ll choose him over Sherlock Holmes any day!) and he isn’t revealed until the very end. Poirot is played by Kenneth Branagh.

Image result for kenneth branagh hercule poirot

I think it’s the best trailer that I’ve seen in a while, but oh goodness! I am fed up of that Imagine Dragons’ song! It makes my ears bleed every time I hear it. We get it. They like pain. They had to submit to painful tortures before becoming a ‘believer’. 

Murder on the Orient Express is scheduled to be released on November 10, 2017. You can have a look at the first trailer below:

It’s National Doughnut Day!

Close up dessert donuts doughnuts #54094

Today is National Doughnut Day… in America. However, I am more interested in the history behind this day.

“Salvation Army Doughnut” was first served by the ladies of the Salvation Army in 1917 during WWI when the Salvation Army Lassies were allowed to go to the front lines of France to provide home cooked food for the troops. In 1938, The Salvation Army created National Doughnut Day in honor to the women that served doughnuts to the soldiers during WWI. It started as a fund-raiser then, the goal to help the needy during the Great Depression.

The doughnuts were often cooked in oil inside the metal helmets of the American soldiers.

Today, National Doughnut Day is celebrated on the first Friday in June. Today, I’ll be remembering those wonderful ladies who went out to the French front to serve soldiers their favorite comfort food.

Image result for doughnut world war 1

Image via Pinterest

June 02nd: The zone

 :

Tell us about your favorite way to get lost in a simple activity — running, chopping vegetables, folding laundry, whatever. What’s it like when you’re in “the zone”?

Writing or reading. When I am in the zone while reading, I can finish the book in one day and move onto the next one even if the story is not totally engaging. As for writing, I can write more than 15,000 words in one sitting if I am in the zone. Lately, I am not in the zone, but I hope to change that soon. 😛

What about you? What’s it like when you’re in the zone?