May 01st: Personal space

 :

To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers? How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?

When I first started La Petit Muse, I wanted to help inspire other writers with quotes, images etc. I honestly was not thinking of attracting readers. To answer the last question, no. I like to keep an open mind when it comes to blogging, but if it means doing away with the current posts that I write on a daily basis, then I won’t do it. Not even if I’m given a billion dollars.

Image result for gif writing

4 thoughts on “May 01st: Personal space

  1. Mandie Hines

    Great answer, EM. When I started my author website, I had to consider whether I wanted it to act as a billboard advertising my work, but where readers would probably only stop by once, or if I wanted somewhere that they could return regularly. I decided that at least for now, I wanted some place where people would return, and I created a platform that allowed me to share my work, my passion, and help other writers from my own experiences.
    I blog in much the same way that I write fiction, I write the stories within me that want a voice. I hope that readers will like them, and that they’ll reach a large group of people, but I could never write something just because I knew it would increase my readership. If it could be something that’s satisfying to me and caters to what my readers like, I’d be happy to make that tweak. For instance, if there was a writing topic that I knew was of great interest to a lot of my followers, I’d be happy to address it because it’d be in the realm of what I’m already writing. But I could never be fake to garner more likes and I wouldn’t want to write a story because it’s a popular genre or idea. That wouldn’t be fulfilling to me as a writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eccentric Muse

      Thank you, Mandie. And you’re doing a wonderful job with your blog. I don’t like the idea of writing something that I don’t believe in/like just because everyone is doing it and they’re getting more likes/comments. I am content even if one person just read my post or like it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mandie Hines

        Thank you! And I agree with you. I think anytime you use a gimmick to get likes, those are fleeting. The people who rushed in with the crowd are likely to have their attention drawn to the next big thing just as quickly.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Eccentric Muse

        You’re welcome and that is so true. You’ll find yourself under pressure wanting to deliver in the name of likes and followers. I’ve already established the identity of my blog and whenever I want to try something new, I build on my beliefs. There is no need for me to turn my personal space into something that its not.

        Liked by 1 person

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

