Sunday Songs: Here I Am to Worship

Image result for here i am to worship background

“Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him and given him a name, which is above every name: That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”

– Philippians 2:9-11

We’ve heard many variations of the beautiful gospel song “Here I Am to Worship”, but do we know who the original singer is? Michael W. Smith? No, although his version is my ultimate favorite.

“Here I Am to Worship” was written by Tim Hughes (singer, author, worship leader and teacher) while he was concentrating on Philippians chapter 2. You can read how the song initially came along on staugustine.com. Today, this song is one of the most powerful that one would feel while singing these beautiful submissive words…

Light of the world
You stepped down into darkness
Opened my eyes let me see
Beauty that made this heart adore You
Hope of a life spent with You
Here I am to worship
Here I am to bow down
Here I am to say that You’re my God

Sunday Songs was co-hosted by Rosema last year and I’ve decided to continue it.

5 thoughts on “Sunday Songs: Here I Am to Worship

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

