But I Can’t Tell You That

Short Story #2

short story sunday

I came up with the following while watching Dr. Spencer Reid do his amazing genius thing (and sleep! You have to see him sleep!) on Criminal Minds, and I remember thinking that I must have him as a muse.

But I Can’t Tell You That

I want to …

I want to tell you …

No, I shouldn’t. I shouldn’t tell you at all.

It’s not that I don’t want to. I shouldn’t …

But I want to!

I want to tell you that I like you. I like you! But I can’t say that. I want to tell you that I haven’t stopped thinking about you and that your face is etched in the back of my mind ever since we were first introduced: you, the boss; me, the new secretary. You wore a goofy grin with that blue pinstripe tie and matching three-piece power suit on that fateful day and you made me feel welcome with just your presence.

I want to tell you that I like the way you part your plump pink lips when you’re lost in thought or simply musing. I like the way you tease your wavy chestnut hair with your long fingers when you’re unaware that you’re doing so because you’re frustrated about meeting a deadline or when something comes up and you can’t seem to find a way to deal with it. I like the way your hazel eyes light up whenever you get excited about an idea and you wildly gesture with your hands to get it across.

I want to tell you that I like the way you smell. I like your musky masculine scent for it brings back delicious memories of long ago sultry Arabian nights.

I want to tell you that I’ll massage your shoulders after a hard day’s work. I’ll make your favorite meals on the weekend … I’ll have to learn to cook though because I’m not one to be found slaving over pans and pots but it’s you and you’ll be worth it because you’re wonderful. I want to tell you that if you give me a chance, I’ll be the only woman you’ll ever need and can depend on.

I want to tell you to forget about her. Just forget about her and be with me but she’s loyal, caring, loving and also my best friend. So I definitely can’t tell you that.

What kind of person would I be if I tell you the things on my mind? What will define me as a good person if I spill my heart to you? I’m sure she notices those little precious traits about you. I want to tell you that you’re quite the man. Handsome, attentive and humorous, but I can’t tell you that.

You are not mine to tell.

©LaPetitMuse

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

