Ciara’s vocals on ‘Paint It Black’ cover wins at everything! Yes, she did that.

I see a red door and I want it painted black
No colors any more, I want them to turn black
I see the girls walk by, dressed in their summer clothes
I have to turn my head until my darkness goes

When I read that Ciara was covering the classic “Paint It Black”  for the film, The Last Witch Hunter, I was excited to hear how her vocals would sound like on the track. I was not disappointed either. It’s dark, it’s edgy, it’s psychedelic, it’s moody, it’s futuristic, it’s chilling and I freaking love it! It gives me chills especially at the end of the song. And I am not someone who usually goes gaga over every cover song from artists I like but this cover puts Britney Spears’ cover of “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” to s-h-a-m-e.

Ciara’s vocals provided an edge that I’ve never really heard on her albums and I like it. Her vocals show just how much she has evolved as an artist. She certainly has come a long way since Goodies. On the original, Stones guitarist played the sitar. I liked this song as a child and when I grew older and started questioning everything and interpreting the songs I hear on the radio every day, I came to the conclusion that the song was about someone depressed after a close one’s death, the reason why he wanted to paint everything black.

Although she did a fantastic job, I’ll always treasure the original.

Listen to her awesome cover here:

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

