Fess-Up Friday: If I were an animal I’d be an …

If you were an animal, what kind would you be?

I disliked this question whenever it was posed to me as a child and as an adult, I dislike it even more and don’t let me start with the fruits and the vegetables! I have no reason in wanting to be an animal, but when the question was posed to me recently I did some thinking. I love dogs, but I couldn’t see myself being a dog.

I came up with two creatures, both birds.

First, the Bald Eagle.

Look at all that beautiful freedom!

I chose the Eagle because they mingle with their own kind: Eagles fly with Eagles, never in a flock. Does that make any sense? Also, no other bird goes to the height of the Eagle. Eagles fly above the storm. They’re brave and strong and ain’t got time for gossip. I soar alone and I have high hopes for my future, therefore, I think the Eagle suits me just fine. Eagles will never be sparrows, seagulls, crows or the common fowl.

To quote Isaiah 40:31: “… but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

Fly like an Eagle my friend. Fly like an Eagle.

The Tengmalm's Owl, pictured by photographer Eugenijus Kavaliauskas, which was hunting from its prey 

Owl hunts for its prey

I chose the unsociable nocturnal Boreal or Tengmalm’s Owl. Yes, they’re rare and will try to avoid any and all contact with humans. The only thing negative about this cutie is the fact that due to their small stature, they’re often preyed upon by bigger creatures and yes, even larger owls. I used to be unsociable – still a little bit unsociable – and it has nothing to do with being shy. I’m kind of a background person and I’ve accepted that.

And I love owls. Yes, I said it. I have a soft spot for the hooters! What about you? If you were an animal, you would’ve been …?

Images

Daily Mail

huffingtonpost.com

One thought on “Fess-Up Friday: If I were an animal I’d be an …

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

