Music for the Muses

Music can have a positive or negative impact on our lives. It can help heal a life or it can take one. It can soothe nerves or it can send one into a rage. It can draw one closer to God or it can drive you to the devil.

I am one of those writers who sometimes get inspiration (not that I need it) from music no matter the topic. It plays a huge part for some of us during the writing period. Some of us tend to lean toward the classical (Mozart, Bach, Bethovan etc.) while some writers like it loud (rock, alternative etc.) or smooth (R&B, soul, pop etc.)

For me, it depends on the material I am working on.

I picked up Ciara’s new album and I went in hard! I wrote two short stories and completed another I was neglecting for the longest time while listening to the album. Depeche Mode is my favorite British export. Their lyrics speak to me like no other artist about life’s highs and lows and in-betweens. I adore Delta Machine, but I pull music from all of their albums to create a master mix and I tend to listen to it as Dave Gahan swings between the emotions from “No Disco” to “Secret to the End”.

As I write this, I am working on a fantastic short piece. I am currently split using The Sins of a Saint or The Saintly Sinner. Yes, it’s a mouthful. Either conflicted way, I only have one main song in mind to satisfy the ever hungry muse, “The Sinner In Me” by Depeche Mode.

I keep Michael Jackson, Robin Thicke (I am in love with his last album!), Ben E. King, Train, Aerosmith, Bruno Mars, Joe Jonas, Muse, Tokio Hotel and Bryan Adams close by. I also like a little bit of Sinatra when I’m working on something vintage/classy, and I tend to have French music handy because the majority of my characters are French. Oui, I’m such a French sucker!

If you’re one of those writers who don’t need background music to set the tone/mood of your story, it is okay. We’re all unique and there is nothing wrong with working in silence or the calm serene surrounding that we call nature.

Image: 

pinterest.com

Video bonus: Enjoy the Silence

All I ever wanted
All I ever needed
Is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary
They can only do harm

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

