Fess-up Friday: Mermaids

This might take a while, so don’t be shy to take a seat.

Don’t bother; it’s not going to be long.

When I was young, I was intrigued by mermaids. I thought the creatures were breathtakingly beautiful and I wanted to become one even for a day. I would spend the majority of my free time reading up on so-call sightings. My favorite Disney film was The Little Mermaid (Still is up to this day). I lived for The Thirteenth Year. I’ve seen Splash. I even watched the cheesy Aquamarine film. By the way, I love that Aquamarine didn’t have that happily ever after ending. Although the storyline was weak, I love the fact that the end stayed open.

I collected newspaper clippings on ‘sightings’ and indulged in fan fiction about these mystical but beautiful sirens.

Then one day, I grew up and my childhood bubble popped.

I still watch mermaid movies from time to time, but I am not as intrigued about them as I was when I was in my fantastical stage. Do I believe they exist? That’s like asking aliens to show themselves just so we can prove their existence. 😛

Images via

  • pirateswikia.com
  • bluediamondsky.blogspot.com
  • theransomnote.co.uk
4 thoughts on “Fess-up Friday: Mermaids

    1. Eccentric Muse

      Yes, they are! It’s just that I don’t bother with them as much as I used to do before although I still watch movies based on them from time to time. Thanks for your comment and I wish you a great weekend. Take care. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'll love to hear your thoughts...

