Books & Reviews 📚

Book #65: Rachel’s Holiday

Image result for Rachel’s Holiday’

(old edition syp)

‘How did it end up like this? Twenty-seven, unemployed, mistaken for a drug addict, in a treatment centre in the back arse of nowhere with an empty Valium bottle in my knickers…’

Meet Rachel Walsh. She has a pair of size 8 feet and such a fondness for recreational drugs that her family has forked out the cash for a spell in Cloisters – Dublin’s answer to the Betty Ford Clinic. She’s only agreed to her incarceration because she’s heard that rehab is wall-to-wall jacuzzis, gymnasiums and rock stars going tepid turkey – and it’s about time she had a holiday.

But what Rachel doesn’t count on are the toe-curling embarrassments heaped on her by family and group therapy, the dearth of sex, drugs  and rock’n’roll – and missing Luke, her ex. What kind of a new start in life is this?

Author: Marian Keyes
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (Arpil 2006)
Pages: 640
Series: Walsh Family #2

My first book about the Walsh family. I kind of liked how the story started with Rachel’s intervention. During her stay at the rehab, she encountered some addicts who were in denial just like her. She fell for the charming Mike – I immediately disliked him – and after leaving the rehab immediately hooked up with him.

Look, it’s a nice read and everything, but I wasn’t feeling it. I didn’t get close to the characters and I struggled to read through some chapters. Nice plot and can learn something about life because the topic was a serious one (drug addiction) but I don’t think I’ll be reading anymore Keyes for a while. I really wished I could have liked this book, but I wasn’t feeling it.

 :

VERDICT:

2

NEXT UP:

Image result for gif michael jackson reading

Gray Mountain by John Grisham

4 thoughts on “Book #65: Rachel’s Holiday”

Let's chat 💙